Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55

Thread: Setting cronjob for batch video processing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,202

    Default Setting cronjob for batch video processing

    You need to set cronjob for batch mode video processing and video import feature to work.

    Recommended settings is

    Code:
    */5 * * * * /usr/bin/php -q /path/to/cron.php  > /dev/null 2>&1
    You need to change following as per your server

    /usr/bin/php

    This is path to PHP. If php is on different location, you need to change the path as required.

    /path/to/cron.php

    This is path to cron.php on your web site.

    For Cpanel Servers


    Code:
    */5 * * * *  /usr/bin/php -q /home/USERNAME/public_html/cron.php  > /dev/null 2>&1
    FOR PLESK


    Code:
    */5 * * * * cd /var/www/vhosts/yourdomain.extn/httpdocs;  /usr/bin/php -q cron.php   > /dev/null 2>&1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,202

    Default

    Setting Up Cronjob in Cpanel Servers







  3. #3

    Default

    What does */5 mean?

    I'm just curious. I know that if you just put 5, it will run the job at 5 minutes past the hour. I'm just wondering how this is changed by the */ being there.
    This member is now known as Sitting Out

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,202

    Default

    */5 means every 5 minute.

    5 = 5 minute, that is only run once per hour.

  5. #5

    Default

    Very nice. Thanks.
    This member is now known as Sitting Out

  6. #6

    Default Blank screen

    Hello

    I did the following

    http://66.79.166.100/cronjob.jpg

    and for import folder there is just a blank screen. Also, when I import a video it says download successful etc etc but it doesnt add the video.

    Update - ok, it is uploading from the front end properly after I adjusted my config.php (the upgrade altered it). It is also doing the cronjob but an error cronjob, namely:

    PHP Warning: main(./include/config.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/www/vhosts/........./cron.php on line 3

    and for 1 file its send 120 error messages so far to my inbox :(

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Manual mode for processing video

    Can it be possible to have both. I really can not make cron job work. Seems to be ok but is obviously wrong!
    is this path ok?
    /usr/bin/php -q /home/username/public_html/cron.php
    or it has to have as an end > /dev/null &
    Thanks for some help...
    I receive email messages saying

    Running process.php
    CRON: 1


    I do not know if it's ok.
    other way for newbies like me a button like it used to be would be fine :-)
    Sorry..perhaps this is great and I do not understand it
    regards
    Daniel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,202

    Default Re: Manual mode for processing video

    Quote Originally Posted by danielvg
    /usr/bin/php -q /home/username/public_html/cron.php
    or it has to have as an end > /dev/null &
    /usr/bin/php -q /home/username/public_html/cron.php

    Is ok. But better have > /dev/null & at end of it (or you may get a mail everytime when the cron runs, depending on your server setup).



    Quote Originally Posted by danielvg
    I receive email messages saying

    Running process.php
    CRON: 1
    That is fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by danielvg
    other way for newbies like me a button like it used to be would be fine :-)
    Sorry..perhaps this is great and I do not understand it
    CRONJOB is only needed for video import.

    We will see if we can do video import work with and with out cronjob (like it worked in previous version). cron is added to as previous method fail to import/convert videos above 10 MB (depending on server configuration)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,202

    Default

    You can run the cron script directly if you need by calling

    http://yourdomain.extn/cron.php

    But this is will not support large video downloads/conversion.

    A video in queue need two run of cron.php to get converted. First one will download, second one will get converted. That is it will be done in 10 minutes. If too many video is in queue, it can take more time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default I'm doing something wrong

    I think the settings are correct
    but I can not make the video import
    I've tried several times...and videos do not appear at homepage.
    Anything I can be doing wrong?
    Do u think is a good idea to ask for help at hostonnet?
    Daniel

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Video Processing Problems
    By heyahey in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 04:42 AM
  2. Help, batch conversion
    By chris1972 in forum Installation Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2008, 03:38 PM
  3. Video Processing
    By browniegirl in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2008, 12:02 AM
  4. Cronjob problems? (Video not getting converted to flv)
    By mismo in forum Installation Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-12-2007, 02:58 PM
  5. Video Processing: Import Video Folder Error
    By browniegirl in forum Installation Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2007, 06:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •