Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Reserve user name / Bad words

  1. #1

    Default Reserve user name / Bad words

    Hi everyone.

    I have a list of several hundred usernames that I want to reserve and many bad words that I want to exclude.

    Is there a way to submit these on my site in a batch instead of one by one?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,389

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    1) copy and paste the name or word you want to restrict into the box

    2) rinse and repeat

    Or possibly, have a look at the mysql table that stores this stuff. You might be able to copy/paste the list there. IDK. Good Luck.
    If it's not fun, stop doing it!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada Eh?
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    I agree. If you have phpmyadmin, then it's easy. just put a few in by hand through the script, then go into phpmyadmin and export that particular table as a sql file.
    Take a look at it, and edit to your hearts' content.
    Then just import it back in, and yer done!
    PHPmyadmin is very forgiving. If you screw up somewhere, it'll let you know.
    http://www.asiancumtube.com Send Traffic, Make $$$
    Check the webmasters link at the bottom of the site

  4. #4

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Quote Originally Posted by grynmoors
    1) copy and paste the name or word you want to restrict into the box

    2) rinse and repeat

    Or possibly, have a look at the mysql table that stores this stuff. You might be able to copy/paste the list there. IDK. Good Luck.

    Hey thanks grynmoors. rince and repeat ..LOL.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Quote Originally Posted by Scuzz
    I agree. If you have phpmyadmin, then it's easy. just put a few in by hand through the script, then go into phpmyadmin and export that particular table as a sql file.
    Take a look at it, and edit to your hearts' content.
    Then just import it back in, and yer done!
    PHPmyadmin is very forgiving. If you screw up somewhere, it'll let you know.

    Scuzz my hosting company provides PHPmyadmin, so I will check out your suggestion.


    You guys are really great - thank you both very much.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,389

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Please let us know if it works and how you got it to work. :D Thanks!
    If it's not fun, stop doing it!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada Eh?
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Just saw your reply Grynmoors, and thought I'd take a whack at it just for fun.
    I put in 3 words, and did an export as file from PhpMyAdmin.
    I got this:
    -- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
    -- version 2.10.3-rc1
    -- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
    --
    -- Host: localhost
    -- Generation Time: May 14, 2008 at 01:04 AM
    -- Server version: 4.1.20
    -- PHP Version: 5.2.4

    SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";

    --
    -- Database: `vshare`
    --

    -- --------------------------------------------------------

    --
    -- Table structure for table `words`
    --

    CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `words` (
    `word_id` mediumint(8) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
    `word` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
    `replacement` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
    PRIMARY KEY (`word_id`)
    ) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=4 ;

    --
    -- Dumping data for table `words`
    --

    REPLACE INTO `words` (`word_id`, `word`, `replacement`) VALUES
    (1, 'poopoo', ''),
    (2, 'heck', ''),
    (3, 'phooey', '');
    So, I added line 4,5, and 6: and tried an import.
    Worked like a charm.
    Couple things to note though....
    When you do the export, make sure that the export type is set to REPLACE, not INSERT.
    If it's set to insert, then you will get an error for duplicate entries.
    Also, If yer lazy like me, and you copy and paste from the stuff in the lines above and just change the numbers and words, make sure that each line ends with a comma, except for the last line which must have a semi-colon.
    Here's what I wound up with:
    -- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
    -- version 2.10.3-rc1
    -- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
    --
    -- Host: localhost
    -- Generation Time: May 14, 2008 at 01:14 AM
    -- Server version: 4.1.20
    -- PHP Version: 5.2.4

    SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";

    --
    -- Database: `vshare`
    --

    -- --------------------------------------------------------

    --
    -- Table structure for table `words`
    --

    CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `words` (
    `word_id` mediumint(8) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
    `word` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
    `replacement` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
    PRIMARY KEY (`word_id`)
    ) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=5 ;

    --
    -- Dumping data for table `words`
    --

    REPLACE INTO `words` (`word_id`, `word`, `replacement`) VALUES
    (1, 'poopoo', ''),
    (2, 'heck', ''),
    (3, 'phooey', ''),
    (4, 'darn', ''),
    (5, 'ratss', ''),
    (6, 'rats', '');
    It worked perfectly :mrgreen:
    http://www.asiancumtube.com Send Traffic, Make $$$
    Check the webmasters link at the bottom of the site

  8. #8

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Hi scuzz.

    Finally I had a go at populating the reserved words table. Your suggestions helped me a lot. Without it I would have been stuck.

    However, I had a lot of problems with the format in which I was to save the file. Finally, I settled with excel/csv. I had to reject the PHPmyadmin default of separating fields with semicolom and I instead used comma.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada Eh?
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Quote Originally Posted by tripleA
    However, I had a lot of problems with the format in which I was to save the file. Finally, I settled with excel/csv. I had to reject the PHPmyadmin default of separating fields with semicolom and I instead used comma.
    All I did was export it as an sql file, which is actually just a text file.
    Then all you need to do is put in the new stuff and import it.
    http://www.asiancumtube.com Send Traffic, Make $$$
    Check the webmasters link at the bottom of the site

  10. #10

    Default Re: Reserve user name / Bad words

    Hi again. I forgot to mention earlier that I had had been successful. However, I will try exporting as sql file next time. Thanks very much!

Similar Threads

  1. Bad Words Not Working
    By ataimoor in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2008, 11:53 PM
  2. I need translate this words! help please
    By joako30 in forum Template Modifications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 10:26 AM
  3. Translation of special words
    By Weby in forum Installation Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 09:05 AM
  4. Square Character appears around words
    By admadtv in forum Installation Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2007, 12:42 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 02:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •