Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany - Deutschland
    Posts
    90

    Default Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    And hello, yet one more time!
    Still working on my quest for perfect or near perfect page translations, I'm trying to determine what extra snippets can still be translated without messing up the video portal. I already know that I cannot translate 'friends' in the following code since that is not part of a standard viewable text.

    Code:
    <?php require_once(SMARTY_CORE_DIR . 'core.run_insert_handler.php');echo smarty_core_run_insert_handler(array('args' => array('name' => 'friends_count', 'assign' => 'frnd', 'uid' => $this->_tpl_vars['friends'][$this->_sections['i']['index']]['FID'])), $this); ?>


    I also know that I can't translate 'friends_name' in the following line because the underscore makes that pretty obious.

    Code:
    <?php echo $this->_tpl_vars['friends'][$this->_sections['i']['index']]['friends_name']; ?>


    However ... it appears to me that I should indeed be able to translate items such as 'Confirmed' in the following line because the capitalized letter "C" as well as Parentethes and those two == symbols seem to indicate, to me anyway, that this is viewable text in a browser which can be translated.

    Code:
    <?php if ($this->_tpl_vars['friends'][$this->_sections['i']['index']]['friends_status'] == 'Confirmed'): ?>
    Can someone please confirm this for me?
    I would certainly appreciate a little clarification here. Thanks.
    .
    EinfachClicken - Family friendly, Fast, Fun, Informative
    Videoportal: http://www.meineclipshow.einfachclicken.de/
    Freebie Flashgames: http://www.megaspass.einfachclicken.de/
    GERMAN HOMEPAGE - http://www.einfachclicken.de/ TONS of FREE STUFF in over 40.000 files.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,019

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    The command that you entered is part of an if statement that is reading the database to see if your friend status is confirmed. However, that appears to be only a portion of the code. I would need to see the entire statement to determine whether or not you can change "Confirmed." Based upon where I think you pulled that code snippet from, the answer would probably be no. The reason is because the code itself is reading the friends table in your database and is literally looking for the status to say "Confirmed." Changing it from "Confirmed" would fail the statement, if you understand what I mean. The only way to keep the statement valid would be to change the SQL statement that made the table's friend status say "Confirmed" to begin with. However, the SQL statement that you would need to modify is encrypted.
    vShare Solutions
    Custom vShare Modules and Services

    Now, your visitors can watch videos on your site using their mobile or tablet device with the Mobility Mod for vShare 2.8!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,389

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    It's not in the language files?
    If it's not fun, stop doing it!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany - Deutschland
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    It's not in the language files?
    No, not at all.
    One of the reasons for purchasing the script was because I had emailed before the purchase and was told that there were language files. Well, I'm not even sure why anyone bothered to go through the trouble for language files since all of them contain nothing but site messages that appear here and there for whatever reasons ... mostly errors or problems. Those could have been translated without placing them in separate files ....

    I'm using vShare on a public site with over 40.000 files and a monthly traffic of apx. 6000 visitors, and that's without any promos whatsoever. Germanys most practical freebie site. It really bites that they sell the script, claim to have support, yet I can't find or receive any support from any vShare developers. That's BS, especially when you have to consider that a user may want to create a professional custom portal ... and not tell him or her that he or she should have spent more money on a better portal DAYS and DAYS and HOURS upon HOURS after they've been working on the portal already.
    In my email, I asked specifically about being able to translate everything in german and was told by someone at vShare that this would not be a problem. I was NOT TOLD that only some items would be translatable, and not all items. I speak, read, and write both langages 100% fluently so the translations are no issue to me, and I know a bit about code too, but this complete lack of support is just plain uncalled for. Nobody knows these intricacies better then the vShare developers.
    Sorry ... irritated ... venting.

    I guess I'll have to look into some server and php forums to answer some of these intricate questions. I do know for a fact that everything except for the raw hard code is translatable if you only know where to look or go. But these people have no interest to help at all. Funny, they could respond to email queries BEFORE the purchase, and afterwards not a peep ...
    Very unprofessional.
    Ah, well.
    .
    EinfachClicken - Family friendly, Fast, Fun, Informative
    Videoportal: http://www.meineclipshow.einfachclicken.de/
    Freebie Flashgames: http://www.megaspass.einfachclicken.de/
    GERMAN HOMEPAGE - http://www.einfachclicken.de/ TONS of FREE STUFF in over 40.000 files.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,389

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    See if igorcreed has anything to offer...

    viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2180

    I don't expect that english is the main language of the developers.

    Always remember that "you get what you pay for"...and for $10, don't expect a whole lot.

    The support mainly comes from other users. Admin does pipe in occassionally but a lot of the questions that people ask have already been answered elsewhere in the forums. There is always the addive "Leave them alone long enough and they will figure it out on their own"...and for $10, I expected exactly that and when/if I don't get instant support, I'm not disappointed. Maybe I'm a pessimist, but if I don't expect a lot, then I don't get disappointed. If I was that disappointed, I'd be using a different script since nobody is twisting my arm to use vShare.

    Any purchase is going to be a gamble...whether it's a script of a pair of shoes. If I buy a $2 pair of shoes from a street vendor, I can probably guess they'll hurt my feet and the vendor will be gone and won't give me my money back or fix the shoes...that's a chance I take and the $2 price tag alerts me to this fact.

    All in all, for $10, I have been very pleased with this script.
    If it's not fun, stop doing it!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany - Deutschland
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    Nope, that didn't help, thanks anyway!
    That was the first thing that I did, translate all of those files which is how I learned that those were mostly just system messages. All in all, I'm pretty satisfied with the vshare script. My main gripe is about the fact that when questions are asked that ONLY the developers can answer, you'd think that they'd step into their own forum? After all, how many such difficult "internal questions" are asked? More than likely not more than one per week, if that? Hence we're not even talking about much time off their hands ...
    .
    EinfachClicken - Family friendly, Fast, Fun, Informative
    Videoportal: http://www.meineclipshow.einfachclicken.de/
    Freebie Flashgames: http://www.megaspass.einfachclicken.de/
    GERMAN HOMEPAGE - http://www.einfachclicken.de/ TONS of FREE STUFF in over 40.000 files.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,389

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    What I was suggesting is that you get a hold of igorcreed, you can find his contact in that post. S/he might have some insight.

    I agree that the support from Admin is lacking, but that's what I expected would probably happen. :/

    I know the script has been translated also into Arabic and also Hebrew. In that event, not only is the language "backwards" so is the templates (no small feat) and it has been done.

    See if AMIR (search for arabic or hebrew). Maybe Amir has some suggestions.
    If it's not fun, stop doing it!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany - Deutschland
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    Now, now, of course I went there to see if help's available. :!:

    But I could see immediately that he ran into exactly the same problem that I did.
    Everywhere, where a clip description states something like: Added xx days ago we end up with stuff like HinzugefĆ¼gt xx days ago. Being that it's a video portal, that kind of stuff is visible EVERYWHERE. And that's what's so irritating. You can translate the added part which looks identical in text and color as the rest of that line, but you can't translate the days ago portion which doesn't even make sense (to me) because I don't see any reason for that kind of stuff to be encrypted or hidden ... least of all if you're selling a script with the foreknowledge that it would "eventually" be translated by someone.
    But yeah, I'll try Amir .. just not today anymore. Gotta focus on some other things first. Thanks again. :wink:

    .
    .
    EinfachClicken - Family friendly, Fast, Fun, Informative
    Videoportal: http://www.meineclipshow.einfachclicken.de/
    Freebie Flashgames: http://www.megaspass.einfachclicken.de/
    GERMAN HOMEPAGE - http://www.einfachclicken.de/ TONS of FREE STUFF in over 40.000 files.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,389

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    Understood, but it was an old post and maybe igorcreed figured some stuff out but didn't post results? That happens a lot. I figured, contact him anyway. See what he says. I hope Amir can help ya.

    We ran into a similar problem with support when trying to figure out how to get a person's profile picture and URL from their profile page to show up in the view_video.tpl....*eventually* we got a reply, but not until after wracking our brains and after quite a while (about 4 months at least).

    Oh yeah, I just remembered something else...one time I had a heck of a time getting ahold of Admin and so I posted in the hostonnet forums...amazingly I got a reply the next day. :wink:
    If it's not fun, stop doing it!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany - Deutschland
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Is it POSSIBLE ??? Translations in specific lines ???

    Yup, tried all of that too. Problem with my commercial search/replace software is that it only accepts x number of file types and sometimes it seems to me like it's behaving a little odd, although not 100% certain on that. When I search, I search the entire root folder of the portal with all of its contents AFTER I made sure to upload the whole thing onto the hard disk. But my searches are limited to PHP, TPL, HTM, HTML, ASP, TXT, DOC and XLS. If the items in question are hidden in other file types such as .INI, .CSS, .CONF, .CGI, and so on, then they won't show up for me.

    My commercial editing software can open up just about any file. So when I utlize the *.* function for file opening, I'll get to see EVERY file in that folder, regardless what type it is. That won't tell me where the hidden information is though. Sure, the info. can be found and I'm sure it's just a matter of time until you or I find it, but I was seriously trying to avoid having to spend "oodles of time" with something that should actually require very little time. Hmmm, I suppose that I could try a windows disk search with Vista/Ultimate and the new & improved "super search indexing" options ... later on or tomorrow perhaps. Let me know if you get lucky with your searches. Thanks!

    .
    .
    EinfachClicken - Family friendly, Fast, Fun, Informative
    Videoportal: http://www.meineclipshow.einfachclicken.de/
    Freebie Flashgames: http://www.megaspass.einfachclicken.de/
    GERMAN HOMEPAGE - http://www.einfachclicken.de/ TONS of FREE STUFF in over 40.000 files.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can the show_video function be channel specific?
    By tnuriel in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 02:54 PM
  2. SEVERAL MISSING Files for Translations !!!
    By EinfachClicken in forum Installation Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 11:42 AM
  3. Would it be possible to make a channel specific RSS feed?
    By tnuriel in forum Feature Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2008, 07:17 AM
  4. make users login on a specific page
    By devarioj in forum Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-24-2007, 09:04 AM
  5. Email subject lines?
    By mersh in forum Template Modifications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 07:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •